Life on the Global Assembly Line Post

April 18, 2008

While reading this essay something occurred to me, I never new the Bee Gee’smade it to underdeveloped Asia.  However that’s beyond the point.  A few quick comments about the piece itself.  For starters I agree with what Ehrenreich and Fuentes are trying to make, however one little flaw in their writing is that we’re not in the cold war any more, and there are no longer three worlds.  It is just Developed and underdeveloped, however seeing as there is no date that I can locate as to when this text was written it may be fine in saying third world instead of underdeveloped.

Another little crick in my neck is about one of the authors, Barbara Ehrenreich.  I do hate to ramble, but in this case of filling the propper requirements of this blog adding up to one page in word, however I must ramble then.  While entering the 11th grade I had the misfortune of being forced to read “Nickled and Dimed to Death” along with”Grapes of Wrath”, both of which are the two most boring and communistic books I have ever read in my life.  In “Nickled and Dimed” Ehrenreich takes on a minimum wage job in America and tries to see if it’s possible to live on minimum wage.  Suffice to say it probably is not, however when she was cleaning in a hotel she did not have to go into detail about picking pubic hair out of the drain.  It was stuff like that, that really ticked me off.  That and she complained to damn much, and if this were a fictitious world where no harassment lawsuits existed I’d probably just pull a “Stewie Griffin” go to her house and just bitch-slap her for writing that book and telling America what we already knew.  There I’m done now.

Women in underdeveloped Asia are being treated badly in factories.  Thank you Captain Obvious.  What we have here are countries using other countries to manipulate capitol in their favor, and in this case the capitol comes from the product, which was produced by the women under harsh treatment.  I for one am all for capitalistic thought and ideas, however I’m not for the cruel and unethical treatment of employees.  Whew… If I was the CEO of Nike I wouldn’t have anything to worry about, because those people in Korea are not my employees, they are independentcontractors, or at least the factory owners are, and since the factory is in an area of the world where no one gives a damn about worker treatment, with the exception of the workers, they  therefore get away with it.  And being the CEO of Nike I’m fortunate enough to write off the independent contractor in Asia and not have any effects added on to my taxes.

On a side note “He who owns the capitol owns the world.”

In 1862 the USA was plunged into Civil War for various reasons, and surprisingly the fair and ethical treatment and eventual emancipation of slaves was not one of those reasons until a few years later when Abe Lincoln signed the Emancipation Proclamation.  Now the women in Asia have a few choices, assuming they want to change their current hellish situation. They fight, riot, protest, or wait for someone to emancipate them.  OK, who’s it gonna be?

One Response to “Life on the Global Assembly Line Post”

  1. Alexwebmaster said

    Hello webmaster
    I would like to share with you a link to your site
    write me here preonrelt@mail.ru

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

